Author Topic: Too BIG of a dump load possible??  (Read 1543 times)

ralph5

Too BIG of a dump load possible??
« on: April 26, 2008, 01:56:21 AM »
I have searched the board for a while now and it was easy to learn:

what a dump load does, and results of too small of a dump load.

My conclusion is that a dump load needs to hand all the power the wind turbine will produce plus some.

My question is, Can i choose too big of a dump load? If so what is the result of too big of a dump load? For example: Would a 24 volt 600 watt water heater be too much for a 24 volt 25 watt wind turbine for example?

I haven't found an answer for this.

Are there other factors involved without getting too complicated? (I'm a beginner with wind turbine in progress)

« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 01:56:21 AM by (unknown) »

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
Re: Too BIG of a dump load possible??
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2008, 01:12:06 AM »
Too large a dumpload will likely overload components upstream of it (between it and the turbine), burning them out.

Rgds

Damon

« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 01:12:06 AM by DamonHD »
Podcast: https://www.earth.org.uk/SECTION_podcast.html

@DamonHD@mastodon.social

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2008, 01:24:48 AM »
Yes and no!. Partly depends on the way it operates. If it is a simple switched on/off load then You may be dealing with excessive currents for the size of battery if you go far too big.

If it is common pwm you will put severe loads on the pwm controller and if it survives then you may end up with a lot of nasty RF interference from the high current spikes.

Within moderation it doesn't matter as long as you don't go crazy. As long as your controller could handle it your proposed 600W should be possible with a decent sized battery but you wouldn't expect low capacity batteries to handle that sort of current.