Author Topic: pedal power 5-10kw [CLOSED]  (Read 838 times)

truc41

pedal power 5-10kw [CLOSED]
« on: June 04, 2008, 07:29:35 PM »
newbie here. Retired with apparently way too much time on my hands.  Basic question is: can a wind generator (variable speed dc generator) of 5-10kw be rotated at 500-1000 rpm to generate 10-15 kw in a 2-3 hour period?  It would be used to charge batteries then the power run through an inverter for ac power.  I have searched for hours on the internet, but can't find an answer to this specific question.  The concept is this:  bicycle, stationary bike or rowing machine, recumbent exercise bike, etc. with a belt drive to a small pulley on a shaft.  A larger pulley on the same shaft with a belt running to a small pulley on the generator (or use a step-up gear box to accomplish the same thing).  Any power created by the generator would go to the batteries.  So far, I have found that an average person can create about 1/4 horsepower which isn't anywhere close to being enough to do this.  It may require a large flywheel on the generator shaft to help with the rotation.  It may also require a handle on the flywheel to help the rotation get started.  I want this to be simple using off the shelf parts.  The flywheel could be six feet in diameter if necessary (big enough to do the job, but small enough to fit through a doorway).   Used to live on an acreage but have retired to a subdivision, therefore, solar and wind power are out. If this would work, it would provide consistent power (we seem to have several brown outs or "winks" in power), give me something to do everyday and be good for my health.

The alternative idea is to run several (maybe as many as 40) of those small dc generators (that do maybe 300 watts at 2000 rpm) through an elaborate pulley and (probably) serpentine belt system to accomplish the same thing.