Author Topic: Wind electronics diy??  (Read 1363 times)

CaptainElectrode

Wind electronics diy??
« on: July 03, 2008, 09:33:57 PM »
Hi all, I am new to wind generators.  I have a few basic questions but I have been reading for days now and can not find my answers.  

1. I intend to build a generator, what is the differences between 12v 24v or 72v or higher volt systems?  Would it be better to go high volt?
  2. I want to run the wind generator and any thing not used I want to put it back on the grid for net billing.  How do I convert the electricity to put it on the grid and I do not want to use batteries.  Are there plans that I can make my own converter (if that is what you call it).
  3. I can not find exact specs for coils?  Where can I find that information?  I want to  build something big and powerful. Any information about the coils is much needed.

I am new to this list and I want to thank everyone in advance for any help that you may send my way.  
« Last Edit: July 03, 2008, 09:33:57 PM by (unknown) »

spinningmagnets

Re: Wind electronics diy??
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 04:48:36 PM »
Hello CaptainElectrode, There is nothing wrong with putting together an odd-volt system, but if you do, you wont be able to use off-the-shelf components (inverters, charge controllers, etc), it will be more expensive than neccessary, and when you have a problem, few people will be able to advise you.

1. The common system voltages are 12, 24, and 48. Each with their own benefits and drawbacks. A Watt is a measurement of power, and it is Volts X Amps (Ohms Law) If you use higher volts, you will need less amps to get the same power. Higher volts travel father distances better, and using less amps means you can use thinner (cheaper) wire safely without overheating. The best wind site may be a hill 100 yards from your house