Author Topic: Newbie with a fairly easy question  (Read 1070 times)

Slurp

Newbie with a fairly easy question
« on: July 29, 2008, 12:35:31 AM »
Hi I'm a newbie to this site and I have some pretty easy questions. I am on a rugby team and we are currently in the process of building a 20' x 18' cabin on our field. We are unable to run 120v out to it due to the cost. I am looking to build a fairly small, simple 12v setup. I am thinking of using 3 maybe 4 RV lights as they are the cheapest I have been able to find at $10 apiece. For now we would probably be using a single 12v car battery, are funds are very limited but I would like to eventually use deep cycle, maybe even golf cart batteries. I've found a solar trickle charger for $5o. I am hoping to keep it lit up for around 6 hours and only on the weekends, do you think this setup would work? Are there any better choices for lights, keep in mind we have very little money to work with. Surely I will need fuses but not sure what size. If anyone can help me out or maybe point me in the right direction I would be very grateful, thanks.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 12:35:31 AM by (unknown) »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Newbie with a fairly easy question
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2008, 08:40:51 PM »
Where are you?

What rating is the solar trickle charger?

G-

« Last Edit: July 28, 2008, 08:40:51 PM by ghurd »
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller

Slurp

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2008, 09:08:31 PM »
Solar charger is just a cheapo, I believe like 5 watt. We will only be using the cabin on weekends for the games so as long as the battery(s) charged by then we'd be ok. Also the bulbs are like 26 watt and there would be 6 of them.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2008, 09:08:31 PM by Slurp »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 01:07:27 AM »