Author Topic: Using two lower-volt wind-gens instead of one higher-volt?  (Read 1180 times)

spinningmagnets

Using two lower-volt wind-gens instead of one higher-volt?
« on: September 13, 2008, 03:12:29 AM »
Jerry posted this in another post. I thought it may have merit and wondered what others here thought (he didn't get an answer as it was OT):

"...I would build 2 matching wind gennies. I would use two 6-volt golf cart batteries. Each gen would charge a 6-volt battery. I'd wire the batteries in series for 12V..."

In a perfect world, when I retire I'll have many acres where I'm allowed to have a 60'-80' tower, and I have fairly strong and steady winds for a large 48V wind-gen.

I'm still learning, but it seems one of the most common complaints is poor low winds where its hard to get cut-in for a 48V wind-gen.

Is there any benefit to having two battery packs, each with two 24V sections. While one  2 X 24V pack is charging (off a 24V wind-gen or solar PV), the other 2 X 24V pack is powering the 48V inverter.

I realize this requires frequent manual switching, but if someone had winds that had difficulty getting much 48V, could I get more Watts for the extra trouble?

« Last Edit: September 13, 2008, 03:12:29 AM by (unknown) »

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
Re: Using two lower-volt wind-gens
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2008, 10:54:29 PM »
There is only so much power in the wind at given speeds, now if that is harnessed at 24V or 48V is irrevevent.

Simply build a stator for 48V and avoid all the battery hasels.

allan down under

« Last Edit: September 12, 2008, 10:54:29 PM by wpowokal »
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Using two loher-volt?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 11:03:08 PM »
No advantage at all.