Author Topic: wind power  (Read 1366 times)

billd

wind power
« on: September 16, 2008, 01:10:31 AM »
Wind Power

I am new to the wind power game. I have been reading and reading to the point were I now know less than when I started. He is what I need help on. I want to set up a wind farm on my house in St. Thomas and drive as much power into my house as possible. I will never ne able to turn the grid around but at 50Cents per K I need to do something. I believe that I need to have a 48 volt system. But after that I am lost.

I need  drawing of what I need to do to get started. And where to go for the stuff. I see lots of winf farms on ebay that have 4 or five or even six smaller wind turbines and my house can support even more than 6 wind mills. So where do I start?

Please help me!!!

« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 01:10:31 AM by (unknown) »

zeusmorg

Re: wind power
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 07:31:12 PM »
 Where do you start?

First, you need to evaluate your resources,what speed winds and are they constant enough to even justify building a windmill? You usually need 10+ mph winds on a regular basis to make the cost of building a system justifiable.

Do you have a location that you can properly and safely locate a tower? Putting small windmills on a house roof is no way to do it, first small mills are just that small and poor power producers. And the vibrations from a windmill transmitting through your house isn't worth not sleeping!

You can do a search for wind speed data for your general location, and if those are favorable, then buy a good anomometer to see it your particular site is even worth building a several thousand dollar system.