Author Topic: Is this motor a candidate for a Zubbly conversion?  (Read 996 times)

cico0815

Is this motor a candidate for a Zubbly conversion?
« on: October 16, 2008, 05:20:11 PM »
Hi!

I'm just a Newbie here and to the theme windpower itself (English also not that good .. sorry)!

I would like to build a savonius turbine next spring and I would like to convert a ansynchron three phase motor into a pmg! Would that be possible?

I don't know what information you would need to answer my question therefore I added a picture of the plate that sits on the motor here:

http://i6.ebayimg.com/01/i/001/10/4c/689c_1.JPG

Is there anything you might also need to tell me if this motor is useful or if it is necessary to rewind it?

Best regards and I hope you could help me here!

Heiko

« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 05:20:11 PM by (unknown) »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
The picture...
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2008, 11:37:22 AM »
Heres the image you linked to:

Tom

« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 11:37:22 AM by TomW »

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Re: Is this motor a candidate for a Z conversion?
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2008, 12:58:55 PM »
Welcome to Fieldlines.

I tried posting yesterday, but I don't think it got through.  Anybody else trying to respond to this posting will have to edit the line with the subject in it because the software thinks it's too long.  (Sorry Cico, it's not your fault).

What I said yesterday, briefly, is that the motor, when converted, will probably not be appropriate for a savonius turbine.  Although there is some useable torque in a Sav, they don't turn fast enough.  A strong wind would be necessary just to reach cut-in speed.