Author Topic: Beginning work on a new wind turbine (strange design)  (Read 1641 times)

divid

Beginning work on a new wind turbine (strange design)
« on: January 19, 2009, 07:28:23 AM »
Hello!  I am very new to this and I have no idea what I am doing really... but I want to try my luck at building a wind generator that is a bit different than what I am seeing on these threads.  I watched a show on the science channel on a design that someone is doing that intrigued me so much I want to try to build something that is similar.  I will be putting it a location that has a very generous amount of wind, 15 miles per hour is a low average.

My design will be a bearing-less design (I plan on attempting to levitate my blades using magnets to avoid as much friction and vibration as possible) that is also tailless... the turbine will be a bit like an attic vent (the circular vents that when wind blows they circulate air in and out of the attic) however the blades will be much bigger and only three or four blades. The blades will be very short at the top and expand to be much larger towards the bottom and be bent in a clockwise half-circle so the design will somewhat cone-shaped.  The idea is that the wings will be able to catch the wind at any direction without the need for a tail.