Author Topic: electric resistance heating w/ wind  (Read 962 times)

redneckmotherearther

electric resistance heating w/ wind
« on: March 02, 2009, 01:23:19 AM »
I'm new to this pc communication stuff...sorry..I have a question about using a 2000

watt ac generator head, geared correctly to a 10'or 12' 3 bladed turbine. Can you wire it directly to a electric heater that has no fan or controls? Will the slower speeds burn up or hurt the generator. My goal is use wind turbine directly for electric heater  1500 watt size in a thermal river rock storage system along with home built hot air collectors. I am doing my version of jacobs feathering system so i will have speed control on the unit.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2009, 01:23:19 AM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: electric resistance heating w/ wind
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 01:02:56 AM »
You will need a substantial ratio speed increasing gearbox to get the speed up for a standard engine driven alternator.

I see many serious problems to be overcome with this idea. Conventional alternators are not inclined to excite much below nominal speed so you may have to be nearly up to your pitch control speed before anything happens. For a constant load resistor you will most likely have to hold load off until high winds when the thing is already in pitch control or the load will either stall the blades or more likely throw off the alternator excitation unless it has AVR control.

The end result is going to be pretty dreadful. To even stand a chance of making something respectable you will need quite a sophisticated controller with pilot exciter and some form of approximating the cube law load. Unless you are into power electronics then the scheme is pretty much a dead duck.