Author Topic: Cart before the Horse  (Read 803 times)

mikewhitted

Cart before the Horse
« on: March 27, 2009, 07:06:06 PM »
I am a newbie trying hard not to rush into wind power, but it's hard.

I have picked up the home brew wind book, but not before buying 36-1"x2"x3/4" n50 magnets, & 14ga. mag wire! I know I should have waited!

But now that I have them, can I use them on a 10' wind turbine without a lot of hassle?

are the magnets to thick & strong. Can I just increase the rotor size, and air gap? and a few other problems? I would like to build a 24v or 48v stator but still trying to figure it all out. I would like to learn, but have not had any exposure to electrical generation. Can I do it, I am a fairly intelligent person, but need help in this wind turbine area. thanks guys!
« Last Edit: March 27, 2009, 07:06:06 PM by (unknown) »

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
Re: Cart before the Horse
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2009, 07:29:18 PM »
with that, you should be able to break two of the mags, and still build a powerful wind turbine.

three phase ,dual rotor ,16poles 12 coils.

google search the board to fine the mag spacing and the rotor dia.

read and read

you'll be fine

lots of people here will help you especially it you can ask the proper questions

« Last Edit: March 27, 2009, 07:29:18 PM by electrondady1 »

TheCasualTraveler

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2009, 06:58:33 AM »
Welcome Mike,

Sorry to say this but I see one problem. There just isn't much consistent wind in central Florida. You will get something from time to time in spring, occasional windy days or during a storm but mostly you'll get nothing usable. I know, I live here but I am on the coast where we get a coastal breeze and it's only just barely good enough for wind power as a hobby. If you do go forward with it plan on a high tower and that your return on investment will be the fun and learning.

Florida is a state for solar power. Check out BuildItSolar.com