Author Topic: Load and Inverters  (Read 957 times)

newind

Load and Inverters
« on: April 14, 2009, 07:16:13 PM »
Ok, so for the record newind does not mean New England Wind. It means New-Wind as in I'm very new to wind. So now for the newbie question.

I have made a small turbine and have it coupled to a generator. The generator is making 170Vdc after rectifying at around 2-1/2 amps.

I've tested it by loading it with a 100w 8ohm resistor. Then with 200watts @ 4ohms and the shaft speed drops significantly. I have not bought an inverter yet, and was wondering if, I did connect it to an inverter will the inverter isolate the generator from the load? Or, once the inverter connects to the grid will it (the turbine) see that load, and do as it has done with the resistors, and drop my shaft speed significantly? Meaning i will not make power....

Any input on this would be great. Its the missing link for me right now.

Thanks,

newind... remember new to wind... be gentle!

« Last Edit: April 14, 2009, 07:16:13 PM by (unknown) »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Load and Inverters
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 03:21:32 PM »
Define "inverter".

"wondering if, I did connect it to an inverter will the inverter isolate the generator from the load?"  Not most inverters sold on the market.

"once the inverter connects to the grid"?

Rethink the entire system.  Or do a price check on legal grid tie inverters, and then read the PDF manual for the inverter of your choice.

"the shaft speed drops significantly", as it is supposed to.

It is either running away before, or stalling now.

G-

« Last Edit: April 14, 2009, 03:21:32 PM by ghurd »
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller

AbyssUnderground

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 03:22:53 PM »