Author Topic: Tax Credit?  (Read 1276 times)

virus hunter

Tax Credit?
« on: July 21, 2009, 02:01:34 AM »
I am a newbie not only to this site but also to the renewable energy concept.  I am currently aggressively researching the possibility of building my own wind turbine. In doing this reasearch I have read notice 2009-41 at the IRS website that details the tax incentives for wind turbines and other renewable energy devices.  To qualify for the incentive it seems that all that is necessary for wind turbines is for the manufacturer to certify the capacity in half kilowatt increments.  Does anyone have any specific knowledge or experience as to wether or not a homemade wind turbine would qualify if the unit can demonstrate production via historical data?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2009, 02:01:34 AM by (unknown) »

wdyasq

Re: Tax Credit?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2009, 06:13:05 PM »
" it seems that all that is necessary for wind turbines is for the manufacturer to certify the capacity in half kilowatt increments"

Need definition for "manufacturer".

Need definition for "certify".

Need definition for "half kilowatt".

Need definition for "is".

All according to the friendly folks at the IRS and in the context of the law quoted.

Ron

« Last Edit: July 21, 2009, 06:13:05 PM by wdyasq »
"I like the Honey, but kill the bees"

brokengun

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2009, 08:37:46 PM »
I don't want to kill your thoughts but I have serious doubts that the gov't would be willing to extend those incentives for homebuilt machines. Firstly, because the machine isn't UL listed or backed by anything other than your word. Also because it would be all too easy to fudge the numbers and make money from the gov't building homebrew turbines. Another reason would be reliability. Say you build a 17 foot machine, great but if the stator overheats in the first month.... and you never replace it then you shouldn't get a tax credit and no one will be able to check up on that.