Author Topic: First Time Wind TurbineDesign  (Read 2697 times)

dsmith1427

First Time Wind TurbineDesign
« on: July 24, 2009, 11:53:03 PM »
After a lot of reading and research, this is my first attempt at a wind generator and I'm looking for some feedback.  While I want to know if my numbers are in the ballpark, I would really like to know if my methodology is correct.  Anyway, here it is...

According to Historical Wind Data from an NOAA website the average wind speed for my area is 4.6 meters per second (10.4 mph).  I used this wind data to start my calculations.  Wanting to keep the project on the small and inexpensive side, I utilized materials around my shop to make 558 mm blades (1.116 meter diameter).  I mounted the blades to a hub and took it outside on a breezy day.  I was satisfied with the results.  See the following YouTube Video.  

www.youtube.com/user/dsmith1427

Now,  I want to size a PMA for this turbine.  System definitions for the PMA include the following:

Average Wind Velocity = 4.6 Meters per second

Cut in speed = 315 RPM

Dual Rotor

Eight Poles (16 N52 magnets)

Six Coils (16 gage magnet wire)

Magnet Dimensions = 25.4 mm x 25.4 mm x 12.7 mm thick

Blades = 3

Tip Speed Ratio =  4

Battery = 12 volts

Turns of 16 gage wire per coil = 125

Sweep Diameter = 1.116 meters

Charge Voltage = 13.2 v

The following method was used to calculate the numbers.

Power in the Wind/Power to Harvest

If the average wind speed is 4.6 meters per second (mps) and the sweep diameter is 1.116 meters, there is about 65 watts of power in the wind.  The following formula is used for the calculation:

P   = 0.5 * R * AS * V^3

where,

P   = Power (Watts)

R   = Air Density (1.23 kg per cubic meter)

AS  = Swept Area

V   = Wind Velocity (Meters per Second)