Author Topic: PMA info required  (Read 3025 times)

sweetwind

PMA info required
« on: August 07, 2009, 05:32:31 AM »
Hi

Being a newbie, i might ask some stupid queries, please forgive me.

I have gone thru the document on Axial Flux PMA howto. According to it, i bought the Neo Magnets (2x2x1) and yet to buy the Copper wires/cables. Which size i have to buy , can i go for #27, if i use this coil, howmany windings i have to and what size i need to wind it(like four inch big circles)?, i am planning to use it in 250+ rpm. will #27 withstand?, can any one suggest me pls

1. 100RPM will produce 600watts, 600Watts means 600Watts/hr is it?
  2. is there a way i can produce it as AC instead of DC output and connect it tomy home without any Inverting device?,
  3. 15 coils and 20 magnets will this be sufficient coils?
  4. What could be the Gap between Stator and Rotor?

thanks in advance

SW

go Green
« Last Edit: August 07, 2009, 05:32:31 AM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: PMA info required
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 01:55:08 AM »
Being a newbie I will be kind to you but it may have been better to do more studying and ask more questions before buying magnets. Don't buy any wire at this stage.

"100RPM will produce 600watts, 600Watts means 600Watts/hr is it? "

This will need a big turbine and your little magnets won't go far towards it. Yo mention no blade diameter or likely wind speed, both will have to be larger than you think . It will get you 600Watt hrs if you can keep it producing the 600W for an hour.

"is there a way i can produce it as AC instead of DC output and connect it tomy home without any Inverting device?,"

In theory yes but you won't manage it. You will never have enough consistent wind and you will never control the thing with your ability. In reality you will not power a home directly with wind power without some intermediate storage means. That means batteries or using the grid as storage with a grid tie inverter.