Author Topic: Older BP/Solarex panels  (Read 3079 times)

gwest

Older BP/Solarex panels
« on: October 14, 2009, 06:35:30 AM »
 Hello everyone,

I'm very new to any type of PV application so bear with me. I aquired four older BP panels from a guy that really didn't know what to do with them. I know they are meant for grid application use. The panels are rated at 42W/117V each and are 28" x 48" and are of the old amorphous silicon design between two panes of glass. Each panel has four leads two hot and two neg. I've been asking two friends by e-mail,one at builditsolar.com (Gary)and another from HomesteadingToday(alternate energy forum) and not getting a lot of needed knowledge. I've been told I need to wire them in series and parallel into a combiner box,to a controller to a battery bank to use an inverter with them. I would be very grateful for any help anyone can give me. As of this time I'm unemployed and don't have a lot of funds to spend on this project. I started this project in hopes of powering my small shop with the panels in some way just to get the feel of using PV panels for alternate power. My experience in the alternate energy field has been limited to heating air and water. Here's some pic's of the panels I have.  

http://www.fieldlines.com/images/scimages/13763/BP_2.jpghttp://www.fieldlines.com/images/scimages/13

763/BP_5.jpg

I put in one pic of me laying on my back taking a photo through the panel of the sun and a tree in my backyard so you can notice that you can see through the panel. I have e-mailed BP about these panels to no avail and also have learned BP didn't publish any information on this type of panel. I don't have a problem wiring something up as I worked as a residential electrician for a few years but I know working with PV panels and DC voltage is a whole new animal :-)

gwest

Cartersville,GA.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 06:35:30 AM by (unknown) »

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes