Author Topic: Grid-Tied Inverter - Guidance please  (Read 2596 times)

WA3PYI

Grid-Tied Inverter - Guidance please
« on: February 16, 2010, 01:49:03 PM »
Greetings All,

I am considering installing some sort of RE system at my home.  We live on a small farm that used to be an operating dairy farm in rural Pennsylvania where it is not really considered to be great for sun nor wind - but I guess we have to work with what we have.  We burn firewood (excuse me - I mean we use biomass for heat) and I have been making and using biodiesel for over 3 years now.  My motivation quite honestly is not to be "green" or eco-friendly but financial - I just want to save a few bucks and be ready in case some terrorist country wants to test their highly enriched uranium here in the USA.  Our electric company's rate caps will expire at the end of this year and rates are expected to take a huge jump.  In our area the Skystream 3.7 wind turbine has been popping up quite a bit but that option seems way overpriced (about $12-$15,000 installed).