Author Topic: magnetic stator  (Read 3375 times)

delboyo

magnetic stator
« on: November 15, 2013, 11:30:48 AM »
first i would like to say hello to you all,this is my first post or rather question if someone could answer it for me please.i am building a magnetic generator to go on my waterwheel in my fishpond, this is my first project of this sort,i have 2 pulleys with self centering taper lock bearings in, they clamp onto a steel shaft,so the whole thing looks like a weightlifters dumbbell.because the rotors are connected by being all steel will their be a problem ,or have the rotors got to be separate individual items.i would like to thank anyone who replies to this now as i don,t get on here that often.

Frank S

• Home with a view of Double mountain
Re: magnetic stator
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2013, 09:19:22 PM »
[first i would like to say hello to you all,this is my first post or rather question if someone could answer it for me please.i am building a magnetic generator to go on my waterwheel in my fishpond, this is my first project of this sort,i have 2 pulleys with self centering taper lock bearings in, they clamp onto a steel shaft,so the whole thing looks like a weightlifters dumbbell.because the rotors are connected by being all steel will their be a problem ,or have the rotors got to be separate individual items.i would like to thank anyone who replies to this now as i don,t get on here that often.]

not nearly enough information for anyone to give you much help.
 First off you mentioned these are pulleys with bearings in them. Or am I reading this wrong?
 what are you palnning to do with the pulleys? try and use them as rotors? if so then you wouldn't want the bearings in the rotor especially not self centering ones as this would allow the rotor to wobble at will.
 A rotor with bearings in it is possible as in with 2 bearings like a trailer or front car hub  this will prevent any radial runout or wobble.