Author Topic: To move, or not to move  (Read 441 times)

Sundog

To move, or not to move
« on: May 18, 2006, 04:16:16 PM »
Hi All,

I have a quandry.

My wife and I have been made a generous offer, and we don't know wether to take it or not.  

Right now we live in Florida, smack in the middle of the suburbs.  We hate it.  But, we both have secure, good paying jobs.  Despite that, our mortgage keeps climing as insurance rates keep getting hiked up.  Makes it damn hard to save money.

Her father lives in rural Tennessee, and has offered us,

A house to stay in with rent about 1/5 of our current mortgage. House needs some work, but is livable.(and show me a 70+ year old house that doesn't need work!)

A couple of acres of land (out of his 310 acres) to build a house on if we wish.

Or to help us find some land to build a house on.

My wife is a postal worker, and is guaranteed a job.  I'm a network and systems admin, but have no college education and only 1 certificate.  I do, however, have a solid 8 years in computers.  Currently another IT worker and myself manage a company's IT system that has over 275 network devices spread across 6 floors with a half dozen different servers, over 30 printers, etc, etc.  My coworker and I planned, installed, and manage the entire network.  It's quite a handfull.  But without certifications or a college degree, I'll end up taking a 25%-50% cut in pay.  

So the question is...

do we sell our house, take a cut in income, and move 800 miles so we can save money to make our life-long dream come true?

Or do we stay where we are, unhappy, paying a rediculous mortgage, and barely managing to save, but with good, secure jobs and health insurance?

Thoughts?  Comments?  Questions?

« Last Edit: May 18, 2006, 04:16:16 PM by (unknown) »

Phil Timmons

Re: To move, or not to move
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2006, 10:23:23 AM »
Dr. Phil :) :) sez:

You are not seeking advice.  You are seeking permission.

I will grant it to thee.