Author Topic: Solar PV Vertically Mounted - Help Needed  (Read 1138 times)

elektronix

Solar PV Vertically Mounted - Help Needed
« on: August 22, 2004, 04:42:45 PM »
Hi,

I need to place panels vertically on a wall. I was told of a losss

of 15 %, but I see more that 30 %, with bare cells pointing a midday

sky vs. placed vertically.

Is there a method to increase intake of the sun light when

cells/panels are vertical?

Is there any kind of Fresnel lens applied onto a vertical solar

panel to increase power?

How a plastic cover changes power intake on vertically mounted

cells, versus no cover?

Any hints are appreciated.

Here are my observations.

I started playing with solar cells I just got from eBay.  

(I broke already two (2 x $2.50)).

I measured at 18:45 o'clock, in the direct late afternoon sun, having:

• 0.51 V open circuit voltage
  • 0.40 A short circuit current.

Next day, medium cloudy, at 13:30 (almost noon, with summer time),

I measured:

• 0.48 V open circuit voltage
  • 0.10 A short circuit current.

I noticed, that pointing cells just straight up into the

milky sky gave me higher current than trying to point where the

sun was behind clouds.

Then I placed my cells vertically and noticed a loss at least 30 % on

short circuit current.   Bare cells test, no plastic/glass cover.

Thanks,

Elektronix

« Last Edit: August 22, 2004, 04:42:45 PM by (unknown) »

Ungrounded Lightning Rod

• SuperHero Member
Re: Solar PV Vertically Mounted - Help Needed
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2004, 08:29:09 PM »
I need to place panels vertically on a wall. I was told of a losss  of 15 %, but I see more that 30 %, with bare cells pointing a midday  sky vs. placed vertically.

Sounds about right.  Assume a latitude of roughly 45 degrees.  Vertical mounting will degrade you by a factor of cosine (90-45 = 45 degrees), which is about .707, or about 30% loss.

Is there a method to increase intake of the sun light when cells/panels are vertical?

Tilt them right.  B-)