Author Topic: Copper fridge heat exchanger as solar collector  (Read 1788 times)

niffa

Copper fridge heat exchanger as solar collector
« on: September 14, 2005, 02:49:37 AM »
Hi,

I have collected used fridge heat exchangers (the tubes at the back of the fridge) and am painting them black, connecting 20 or so together with a  copper bus pipe top and bottom.

I know this collector will need to be pumped to over come the pipe friction losses but should heat up well?

I intend to have a reflective backing plate so both sides of the head exchanger will see the sun. Lots of thin copper tube under glass got to work?

Please comment, as I have no experience. Sorry no photo as no camera.

Phil

« Last Edit: September 14, 2005, 02:49:37 AM by (unknown) »

georgeodjungle

Re: Copper fridge
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2005, 11:02:45 PM »
sounds like it would work.

but i think a flat black backing plate might work better by heating internal temps up.

build two and let us know.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 11:02:45 PM by georgeodjungle »

Volvo farmer

Re: Copper fridge heat exchanger as solar collecto
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2005, 06:35:05 AM »
Painting them black? Every one I've ever seen already is black. What are you pumping through them and what are you going to do with it when it's hot? There's mineral oil (possibly contaminated from burned out compressors) in them there coils and I think it would be unwise to use them for potable water.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2005, 06:35:05 AM by Volvo farmer »
Less bark, more wag.

coffeyw

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2005, 08:42:14 AM »
Most I've seen were glossy black.

I assume you're painting them flat black.