Author Topic: Passive Solar Heating - Need Help w/ electronics  (Read 4118 times)

Derek

Passive Solar Heating - Need Help w/ electronics
« on: November 16, 2005, 05:46:33 PM »
Hi everyone, this is my first time here, of probably many visits to come.  I've been working on creating a passive solar heater, with a 12v DC fan to circulate more air through it.  

Basically, I bought this fan, which is supposed to put out 79 cubic feet per minute, and is perfect if running at full capacity.  Now what I would like to do is hook this fan directly to a solar panel, this would avoid having to use any other switches, batteries and such.  Basically, when its sunny out, the box heats up, and the fan would kick on.

The fan is rated at .34 amps, (4.08 watts).  The problem I have is that the solar panel only puts out 300mah, which I guess is WAY too low to even get this fan to kick on.  It will run if I push start it with my finger, but thats all.  The solar panel is rated at 15.4 volts though they said.  Now I've tried using a few capacitors, but that hasnt seemed to do anything.  From what I understand, using a diode would make sure the current flows only one direction, which I'd probably need.

But I guess what I really need to do is somehow increase the amps between the solar panel and the fan itself.  So how can I do that?  I'm at a complete loss of ideas here, since I'm pretty new to electronics for the most part.  Any and all help is appreciated, thanks!  

-Derek

« Last Edit: November 16, 2005, 05:46:33 PM by (unknown) »

techwolf

Re: Passive Solar Heating - Need Help w/ electroni
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2005, 10:58:57 AM »
Get a second solar panel, a smaller fan or use some sort of reflector to put more sunlight on the panel you got.

just make sure the panel does'nt get too hot

« Last Edit: November 16, 2005, 10:58:57 AM by techwolf »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re:
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2005, 11:00:39 AM »
Hi Derek,

A diode will make things worse.