Author Topic: Newbie In Need Of Solar Panel Advice  (Read 1524 times)

cougarparts4u

Newbie In Need Of Solar Panel Advice
« on: February 15, 2006, 11:33:12 PM »
I'm needing a little help in putting together a simple solar panel project.

After much research and trying to figure this out on my own, I'm back to square one. Too many variables in solar panel current...and I'm not an electrical engineer nor much experienced in calculating volts, watts and amps.

What I'm trying to do is match a 12v solar panel with these specs: "4.5 watt, voltage voc 18, current ISC 250ma"---up to a 12v fan, such as a double bearing 120mm computer/server type fan.

My concern is that the fan may "over-rev" on a sunny day and burn out the bearings prematurely. I'm trying to avoid using a battery/circuitry type arrangement if possible, I would much prefer, for obvious reasons, to keep this project simple by using a direct wired fan that can take anything the solar panel could possibly "dish out" current wise...even if the Sun and Moon and Venus are all three shining brightly in a crystal clear sky on June 21st at high noon.

I'm putting this "project" together to do a "special situation" attic venting. I could use a typical 120v fan...but after my next door neighbor's attic caught on fire due to a defective gable vent fan...the idea of possibly slinging sparks all over my attic disturbs me somewhat (even if the odds are a million to one), and I've chosen to go a low voltage solar route instead.

Which brings up another question: What happens if a small 12v fan locks up and the solar panel keeps on pumping power into it? Could it overheat and catch fire? Or is the current too small to create such a situation?

Any suggestions that anyone might have to offer would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

MikeD

« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 11:33:12 PM by (unknown) »

Nando

Re: Newbie In Need Of Solar Panel Advice
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2006, 06:22:02 PM »
MIKED: