Author Topic: building first solar panel  (Read 2399 times)

w9kh

building first solar panel
« on: April 09, 2006, 12:38:46 AM »
I just ordered the "solar cells by the watt" from silicon solar to try and build my first panel.  What should I use for a backing for the panel, as well as what kind of glass for the front?  Does anybody have any other suggestions?

Like I said, this is my first attempt at building a solar panel, but I would like to build more if all goes well.

Thank You,

Kevin

« Last Edit: April 09, 2006, 12:38:46 AM by (unknown) »

amiklic1

Re: building first solar panel
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2006, 02:33:19 AM »
You can search for my past posts. I discussed that with others. Now, I do it like this:

Front glass: 4 mm tempered glass

Rear (backing) glas: 4 mm tempered glass

Frame- Aluminium 20x20x2mm U-profile

Mounts: Alu 20x20x2mm U-profile

First, solder all front sies of the cells. Than, test each cell for voltage and short circuit current.

than connect 9 cells in a line, to build a string. Turned upside-down, solder all 9 cells 810 is allso posible). I mount last cells in a string on 90 deg (see pictures on http://www.hypeol.com , that's my web page with solar panels)

Than, I use Sika TackDrive silicone, used for windshield mounting on the car, to glue the cells onto the back glass. Than, I use aluminum tubes (perforated) with a kind of silica gel (ask in window manufacturers, or a glss shop for that)and put it onto the ends (make a frame of that) the botom glass. I put some plastic around the positive and negative ends that goes outside the panel, so there is no possibility of shot circuit, and take it down under that aluminium tube (square tube with many small perforations. You need it to avoid condensation). Than I put fron glass above tha, and fasten it somehow. (Weight or similar). Than I put a large amount of SikaTackDrive all around. Let it to stay one day, and glue the frame tomorrow.