Author Topic: Wiring PV panels in series  (Read 2886 times)

Phssthpok

Wiring PV panels in series
« on: June 27, 2006, 02:08:02 AM »

Tried searching, but apparently I'm not too good with selecting search parameters to net the results I seek. :/

I have several 12v PV panels (six 15w, two 64w panels, mixed Mfg.) and I just recently lucked into an unused BPSolar 50watt panel (http://www.southwestpv.com/Catalog/PDF/BP_850_840.pdf)  for $100. Unfortunately it's a wired for 48v nominal output.

Is it possible to wire (2)sets of three 15w panels in parralel, then wire each of these sets in series with each of the 64w panels to yield a nominal 48v, and THEN wire all that in paralell with the BP panel without frying my 12v panels?

If so I was thinking about running the output through A DC/DC converter like this one:

http://www.trcelectronics.com/Meanwell/sd-350d-12.shtml

Then run the output from that into my existing 12v Charge controller/battery bank.

Thoughts?

« Last Edit: June 27, 2006, 02:08:02 AM by (unknown) »

Nando

Re: Wiring PV panels in series
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2006, 08:59:37 PM »
STARTING from the end

The 12 volts converters are designed to have stiff (low impedance) voltage sources.

No good operation if the solar panels are feeding the DC/12 V converter.

So no good for your purpose !!!

NOW SOLAR PANELS

Panels with different power and/or voltage for paralleling or serializing.

You may parallel panels with the same voltage and different current capabilities.

Same voltage = Vmp = Volts at maximum power point.

If they have different Vmp, the ones with lower Vmp will have reduced current capabilities ( This if you are using a good charge controller).

If you are using a general controller, like the C40 the currents will be saturation current at lower voltage as defined by the battery load.

You may place in series panels with the same current capability ( they may have voltage differences).