Author Topic: Solar panel brands???  (Read 2724 times)

Gresford

Solar panel brands???
« on: August 13, 2006, 03:43:31 AM »
I'm new to photovoltaics so I may not be wording this question correctly but I'm hoping that someone can help me.  I am looking to purchase solar panels to add an array to my off grid generator system.  Are there certain brands or types of solar panels that are more efficient than others? By efficiency I mean the ability to collect the sunlight for the most hours during the day regardless of the angle of the sun for battery charging and the quality of the panel itself.

Thanks,

Gresford Thomas
« Last Edit: August 13, 2006, 03:43:31 AM by (unknown) »

Titantornado

Re: Solar panel brands???
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2006, 06:21:47 AM »
Not so much the brands, but the types, yes.  Monocrystalline and polycrystalline panels are more efficient than thin-film, flexible, or amorphous panels.  Monos and polys cost a bit more, but will also have a much longer service life.  I've heard (but since I never had any, I can't confirm) that thin-film panels loose a lot of their output pretty early on, then settle down to operate at a lower value for the rest of their lives.

What you really want to look for is the comparison between the rated power and the minimum (guaranteed) power.  Some have a difference as low as 5%, others (like the ones I have) are 10%, sometimes higher.  (I got mine because the price was too good to pass on)

What really makes solar panels worth their grit, is the charge controller.  An MPPT (maximum power point tracking) controller will squeeze every bit of available energy from the panels under all conditions.  A solar tracker can also capture a lot of additional watts every day that would have been lost to fixed panels.  I guess what I'm getting at is, it's not only the panels that makes the system efficient.

« Last Edit: August 13, 2006, 06:21:47 AM by Titantornado »

disaray1

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2006, 06:31:11 AM »