Author Topic: How much power to run a well pump?  (Read 5943 times)

rmcelwee

How much power to run a well pump?
« on: September 11, 2006, 10:02:47 PM »
I am extremely new to RE and just wanting to do it as a hobby. Definitely not going off the grid. I would like to start small and then end up powering a few things here and there as my system grows. I recently dug a well for an irrigation system and installed this pump:

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=47906

The web page ad says "8.5 Amps" and the documentation that came with the pump says "5 Amps start up". Other than that, I have no idea of the power requirement for the pump.

So my two questions are:

1. How can I figure out what my power draw is on this pump?
  2. Once I know how much power it uses, I guess I can figure out how much money it costs me (in electric bills) to run it. I know it will take 100 years to break even if I am only running one pump on the system but it is still a number that I would like to know (so I can carry on a conversation about my system). I see from my electric bills that I use around 1800-2600 KWH a month @ about $0.082/KWH. If I am using a 110V pump (see above) what would my cost be to run my pump 3 hours a day, 2 times per week? I'm only asking because you guys can probably figure this out in your head while it will take me an hour to figure it out (first time doing this).

FWIW, I documented my shallow well installation on my website and will do the same with my solar power:

http://www.lightweightmiata.com/well/

I would like to eventually cool my garage with the cold well water - but that is another project.

« Last Edit: September 11, 2006, 10:02:47 PM by (unknown) »

wdyasq

Re: How much power to run a well pump?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2006, 05:34:00 PM »