Author Topic: Newbie - 1st PV system  (Read 1948 times)

godspower

Newbie - 1st PV system
« on: October 30, 2006, 05:05:54 PM »
Great discussion board here.  I am a newbie, this is my first post.  I have been reading the posts for several months and am a little intimidated by the amount of knowledge out there.  I am relatively new to alternative energy studies.  Anyway, I recently completed my first PV project.  Here is some information on my system.

--7 Mitsubishi MF-PV-155EB3 Panels

--PV Powered PVP2000 Grid-intertied Inverter

System rating is 1085W.  The array is mounted on constant angle rails on my south facing garage.  The inverter is contained in the same building.  I did all the wiring to tie my garage into the grid including digging the trench, pulling the wires and installing and connecting 2 breaker boxes.  Quite fun for a relatively inexperienced person.  I contracted the installation of the PV system but I was actively involved as the assistant.  I participated in all aspects except for the connection of the wires from the array into the inverter and from the inverter into the grid.  I was surprised how easy the project was. We completed the entire installation in about 7 hours.  The electric utility in my area offers a net-metering program for which I have made my application, although it won't be very often where there is excess power being provided to the grid with this small system.  For those interested, the total installed cost of the system was almost $12,000.  After the state rebate, 30%, and federal rebate, 30% w/max of $2k, the revised installed cost will be very close to $6,300.  Resulting in an installed cost of $5.80/rated Watt.

System began generating on October 7 and thusfar has produced 63KwH.  I invite your questions and comments.  Thanks for being such a great community.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2006, 05:05:54 PM by (unknown) »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Newbie - 1st PV system