Author Topic: Help with new RV solar system  (Read 2683 times)

ONEmule

Help with new RV solar system
« on: December 05, 2007, 10:10:03 PM »
 GREAT SITE, I have been doing research on products for my system and stumbled upon this site (literally). I am in the beginning stages of setting up a solar system on my 40' bus. So far I have 6 kyocera 120 panels, a combiner box for panels, C40 charge controller, magnum 4024 Inverter/charger, solar array breaker panel, and a 3 cyl.Kubota diesel engine minus generator head. I have been searching for ac/dc disconnects, 150 breaker panel,Dc breaker panel, AND BATTERIES. EVEN THO A LARGE CHUNK has been accumulated i still need a few items.I must say that i have never done this before and am worried about making a Biggie mistake. I have grounding issues where as neutral and ground must be kept separate and my only grounding will be at the generator. (so i have read) because it is for an RV it is not grounded like a house would.I have a few wiring diagrams but if anyone would like to ad there 2cents I would appreciate it.Also what batteries would you recommend, I am on a very tight budget, are those Sams club batts worth there money ?? I would like to find a batt for around 125.00 or less x (8) ouch, and would hope them to last 10 plus years. I cannot seem to locate a good source for my gen head other than the ST type,are they worth there $$ plus i would have to come up with a pulley set-up.Again thanks for all the Great info on this site and THANKS in advance for all your help.  Randall/ONEmule  :~)
« Last Edit: December 05, 2007, 10:10:03 PM by (unknown) »

Volvo farmer

Re: Help with new RV solar system
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2007, 08:26:02 PM »
Google Midnite Solar for nifty boxes to hold AC and DC breakers. I think Sam's club batteries would be OK in your situation. If nothing else, good batteries to "learn" on, at half your stated budget.

« Last Edit: December 05, 2007, 08:26:02 PM by Volvo farmer »