Author Topic: Have spare land, want to feed the grid- please help me get started  (Read 1418 times)

PowerDubs

Hi- I'm Josh.

I just bought my first house and it is situated in the country on roughly 2.5 acres that backs to a cornfield.  Instead of just letting the space sit there wasted, I had the idea of making a 'solar farm'.

I know zero about solar power, but I am fairly handy (I fix appliances for a living) so I was hoping to learn enough about this and put together my own setup...starting small with a few panels and expanding it by adding panels as funds allow.

I'll be upfront about this as a few of the websites I have come across dealing with solar systems have a somewhat political stance.  I am not doing this in regards to any enviromental concerns.  Moreso my goals are-

#1  a hobby/project now that I am older and don't need to be spending money needlessly on cars/motrocycles, etc.

#2 eventually get the system large enough to see a decrease in my electric bill..and maybe even theoretically in a perfect world be able to sell back to the electric company.

So now that I've explained why I am here, can anyone help me by explaining what I need to do, parts to buy, places to buy, etc?  I'd prefer to do it componet based so I have a choice in the parts as opposed to an off-the-shelf box kit which may limit me in some way.

I live in NJ.  I will be putting the panels on some sort of stands sitting on the ground.

Thanks- Josh

« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 11:41:04 PM by (unknown) »

wdyasq

Re: Have spare land, want to feed the grid- please
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 07:53:39 PM »
First, you need to tell us how much money you want to waste....oops .... make that invest.

In the real world, one cannot make money selling back to the electrical grid. One would be better off investing the money and using that to pay their electrical bill.