Author Topic: Can Trojan T-105 batteries last almost 8 years ?  (Read 35385 times)

somethingfromnothing

Can Trojan T-105 batteries last almost 8 years ?
« on: March 24, 2005, 12:48:41 AM »
Since I am new to all of this I have a question about Trojan batteries in the REAL world.

My neighbor has been on solar for a long time. He says his Batteries lasted him almost 8 years! Can this be at all true ? He says its no big deal , just size your bank at 6 times your daily KW use to keep them from discharging more than about 15%.

I find this so hard to believe.....8 years off of T-105's ????

He says even further that he is not even going to bother with Trojans this time , but pick some other battery that is the same size but just as good/on sale.

Please straighten me out !  
« Last Edit: March 24, 2005, 12:48:41 AM by (unknown) »

inode buddha

Re: Can Trojan T-105 batteries last almost 8 years
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2005, 06:47:56 PM »
Well, I can't see why not. I bet its entirely possible with a properly engineered setup. I'm no expert at all, but I do know that I've purchased 10 year old cars that still had the original battery.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2005, 06:47:56 PM by inode buddha »

windstuffnow

Re: Can Trojan T-105 batteries last almost 8
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2005, 06:55:59 PM »
  I'd like to believe thats true... I have 6 years on mine and very seldom have they gone below 80%...  Ask me again in a couple years if they made it to 8... When I installed them I was told 3 years max by the cart shop but I think he was refering to his experience of those in the golf carts.

Hav eFun

Windstuff Ed

« Last Edit: March 23, 2005, 06:55:59 PM by windstuffnow »
Windstuff Ed

wdyasq

Not Trojans
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2005, 07:05:21 PM »
I got 7 years from a set of batteries on a light commercial truck, no special care.  I believe 10-12 years should be possible with light discharge and proper care in a controlled temperature enviornment.

Ron