Author Topic: Battery Temps-Storage-Boxes  (Read 2512 times)

Dexter

Battery Temps-Storage-Boxes
« on: June 27, 2007, 07:08:11 AM »
Hello - I'm a bit of a newbie looking for some advice.  I know enough to be dangerous.  

I have a remote cabin which has no power.  I use a Trace inverter and a bank of 4, 6 volt Trojan 105 batteries.  I use a generator to charge.  My problem is that the cabin is a moutain location which is quite cold in the winter.  The batteries are in the basement.  It doesn't freeze in there, but it is in the 30's.  I can't really get any charge retention at all...

I currently don't have an insulated box, but I'm thinking of building one.  However, I'm not sure that will help.  There isn't really anything to build heat in the box for the insulation to keep in.

As well, I understand it needs to be ventilated, but I'm worried about that just letting more cold in.

I'm thinking about moving the batteries and box up to the main floor inside the structure.  It will be warmer there.  Never below 40 when we're not there and more like mid 60's when we are.  However, I'm worried about gasses in the living space.  I could vent to the outside, but then I'm letting cold air in again.  I also worry a little bit about the potential for an explosion and if it's in the living space, there is more change for injury.

So, a couple of questions I could use your advice on.

Is putting it in the living space a good idea?  It's warmer, but is it more dangerous. Would moving to a sealed gel style battery help with that?

How do I vent sucessfully without just letting more cold air in?

Thanks for any info...

« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 07:08:11 AM by (unknown) »

coldspot

Re: Battery Temps-Storage-Boxes
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 01:53:42 AM »
I"m looking into/for a used/free chest freezer. Insulated a bit to start with and should be able to add extra stuff as I go.

:)

$0.02

« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 01:53:42 AM by coldspot »
$0.02

Volvo farmer