Author Topic: Keeping Batteries Cool  (Read 2449 times)

claychps

Keeping Batteries Cool
« on: February 19, 2009, 04:36:35 AM »
Hi all,

I am just starting out, got the HF 45w deal for a good price and figured I'd knock out the TV, computer and a couple of lights (CFL) off the grid. I bought a couple of Sam's Club Golf Cart batteries and then got to thinking. Here in the So. Ca. desert, it can get pretty warm. I read that above 77F, the batteries can age quicker than I would want. Anyone out there storing batteries outside in the desert and have come up with a way to keep them cool? They will be in a plywood box, in a shed but it still gets warm in there. Thanks for any help !

Robert

« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 04:36:35 AM by (unknown) »

zap

• There's an app for that
Re: Keeping Batteries Cool
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 10:56:18 PM »
Why not skip the shed and dig a hole for them?  Just a thought.

And another thought... do you really intend to power a TV, computer, and a couple of CFL lights with only 45 watts?

« Last Edit: February 18, 2009, 10:56:18 PM by zap »

Chuck

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2009, 08:03:34 AM »
A couple things come to mind. To begin with, you'll want to have a charge controller with a temperature sensor (and set it up properly). This adjusts the charging voltage depending on temperature. It will help keep the batteries alive if not exactly happy.

I'd make sure that the shed is well shaded with lots of solar panels, you got a good deal, right ? Insulate the shed well, and make sure it's vented top and bottom. There are greenhouse vents that open at a set temperature, good to use for the top vent. It wouldn't hurt to have the lower vents attached to a pipe buried several feet underground to cool the incoming air. It really depends on how much time/energy/money you have to put into it.

On the other hand, you can just put them on the porch or garage.

« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 08:03:34 AM by Chuck »

claychps