Author Topic: Home made turbine?  (Read 1375 times)

Monzadude

Home made turbine?
« on: December 29, 2004, 05:11:50 PM »
Hi there. I'm new to this site and I'm thrilled to death with some of the info I've gotten so far. I'm trying to learn how to make my own wind turbine but I don't know where to start. I've read some books but I'm not a rocket scientist so these made no sense. I'm trying to find something that will help the average person like me. I have a solar backup system right now and I understand all of that just fine. I understand wind turbines that are premade but not how to make my own. I even understand and have played with tesla coils. Can anyone tell me where to fine info for the novice? I've been given info before but by the time I would have bought the book, suplies to make the turbine and all the wire. It would have been cheaper to buy one. I am fairly handy with this sort of thing and a quick learner. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks Bill

« Last Edit: December 29, 2004, 05:11:50 PM by (unknown) »

Norm

• Ohio's sharpest corner
Re: Home made turbine?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2004, 10:33:29 AM »
   I haven't built one yet but I can't imagine anything simpler or easier to make than this:

http://www.otherpower.com/woodax.html

Substitute some nice bearing (perhaps even roller blade wheel bearings.

I'm sure this will help you get started on a really fun-filled adventure!

It sure has helped me!

BTW Dans thanks again!

( :>) Norm.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2004, 10:33:29 AM by Norm »

MelTx

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2004, 01:34:21 PM »

Hello M-dude the project that norm pointed out is easy one to start.