Author Topic: A few thoughts from a trained engineer but a wind turbine Newbie  (Read 3097 times)

BigBreaker

Just for starters I want to reiterate that I am a wind turbine newbie and haven't made even ONE wind turbine myself.  Part of the reason is that I live in an apartment in New York City and they REALLY frown on setting up windmills.  I learned electrical engineering as an undergraduate at MIT and the mechanical/aerodynamics side in a few classes but mostly years as an hobbiest / RC airplane enthusiast and other sorts of projects.  My wife also happened to be a mechanical engineering major.  I have been lurking here for a while and really wanted to share some of my thoughts - for what it's worth.  I'd love nothing more than for them to help someone how can actually BUILD one of these things for their home.  Oh, just trivia, but electricity in NYC costs $0.19/kWh and last month my terrible A/Cs (mostly) used 1200 kWhs!  Yikes!

First on efficiency - perhaps I'll repost this in another section but you guys should really consider hydrocarbon coolants for all your refrigeration applicances like ice chests, refrigerators and A/Cs.  Hydrocarbons are about 30% more efficient than CFC/HCFCs, AKA freon.  Hydrocarbons are also nearly free and ozone friendly.  Sadly they are also somewhat explosive when mishandles but lots of DIYers use them safely.  Lots of great websites and discussion boards can help you with the practice, safety and legality of modifying existing products.