Author Topic: Hybrid system ???  (Read 2495 times)

mgtd

Hybrid system ???
« on: September 02, 2008, 06:44:33 PM »
I currently have a 10" Otherpower scratch built mill and 860 watts of solar feeding my 840 AH, 48V  battery bank which feed an Outback 3048 inverter.  I'm powering about half of my home/shop 120 volt requirements. (haven't addressed getting my 240 volt requirements yet.

Available to me, is an Enertech 1800 mill (Used and needing a little work)  This unit supposedly produces 1.8KW of 120volt AC (in 24 MPH wind)and requires AC input voltage (for coil excitation)--thus it is a Grid Tie unit, and as a stand alone, would not be able to produce any power if a power company outage occurred.  

My thoughts are to power the Enertech from my Outback inverter and use the Enertech output to power some critical circuits (fridge-freezer) and maybe a trickle charger for my battery pack.

I'm new to this, so don't flame me too bad !!  I'm looking for downsides and constructive criticisms of my thought process and feasibility of this integrated concept.

The Enertech 188 has a noisy bearing in the gearbox and should be a relatively easy fix.

« Last Edit: September 02, 2008, 06:44:33 PM by (unknown) »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Hybrid system ???
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2008, 01:08:32 PM »
mgtd;

It sure seems I read here once about someone using the output of a pure signwave inverter to trick a grid tie inverter to produce into that setup. Sure seems like a decent sinewave inverter feeding loads qualifies as a "grid" although a small one.

Just recall reading that I have never tried this so take it with a grain of salt as they say.

If I were to try this I would isolate the inverter AC out with a 1:1 transformer and use proper fusing, however.

Good luck with it.

Tom

Tom

« Last Edit: September 02, 2008, 01:08:32 PM by TomW »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2008, 01:16:45 PM »