Author Topic: Windpower Science Fair Project  (Read 1536 times)

helena

Windpower Science Fair Project
« on: October 27, 2005, 02:35:43 AM »
Hello-

I'm a highschooler doing a science project on windpower. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas of useful questions that could be investigated in a three to four month time span. Not full-fledged projects or experiments, just questions that I might be able to use to develop an experiment. I have zero experience with windmills, etc., so any information on what would actually be useful and relevant to investigate would be wonderful.

Thanks muchly!
« Last Edit: October 27, 2005, 02:35:43 AM by (unknown) »

joemac2005

Re: Windpower Science Fair Project
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2005, 09:15:15 PM »
Here are some thoughts...

What is the relationship between the SIZE of the rotor (propeller) and power

output available? Wind-Swept Area is the Key!

What is the relationship between WIND SPEED and Power Output?

We find the power goes way up as the wind increases, a cubed factor...

What about how high up in the air you put your wind mill?

What about where you put the windwill?

Good things to know, big windmill, up in the air, at a good windy site means POWER.

How about a giant wind farm off the coast of California? Maybe two,

one in the North and one in the South.

Why are European's leading the world in this technology?

What major companies are now getting involved in wind energy.(GE)

just some thoughts... -Joe

« Last Edit: October 26, 2005, 09:15:15 PM by joemac2005 »

Clifford

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2005, 01:56:52 AM »
There are several articles about homemade alternators (the core of many windmills).

You could try making a scaled down version.

I presume you could even make some of the parts out of wood rather than tearing apart the front-end of your parent's car.

http://www.otherpower.com/bartmil.html

http://www.otherpower.com/otherpower_wind.html

http://www.otherpower.com/learningcurve.html