Author Topic: GrassHopper Need Help from The Masters  (Read 6386 times)

zapmk

GrassHopper Need Help from The Masters
« on: January 07, 2006, 02:40:43 AM »
Hi All,

This is my first time posting in this forum, But I have been reading it for a long time.

Need some advice on a VAWT gen I have been working on.   I have built the frame and a five section rotor, with each section staggered so that it forms kind of a twist from bottom to top, the sections are 48" X 54" so I believe I have 90sq feet of rotor area.

Here are the Questions: How Big of a Dual rotor Alt would you build for it?  

Coils, what wire size and number of turns? how many coils and magnets ? would like it to be 3 phase.

this will be for a 24 volt system

I am not very good at math.

Any Advice or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Mike  

« Last Edit: January 07, 2006, 02:40:43 AM by (unknown) »

RP

• A dog with novelty teeth. What could go wrong?
Re: GrassHopper Need Help from The Masters
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2006, 07:53:57 PM »
A few questions for you:

Is this a savonious (S) style rotor?

Which dimension (48" X 54") is the diameter?

What kind of wind speed are you expecting?

« Last Edit: January 06, 2006, 07:53:57 PM by RP »

zapmk

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2006, 08:07:41 PM »
Thanks for the reply,

Yes right now it is the S style savonious, I have made it so that I could play with a different styles later if need be. the sections are take a part with a keyed coupler.

It is 48" in diameter, as far as wind speed I don't know. are you asking about the rotor or how windy it is around here ?

Mike

« Last Edit: January 06, 2006, 08:07:41 PM by zapmk »

RP

« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2006, 08:39:22 PM »
Sorry I wasn't clear.  How windy is it there.

Savonious rotors typically produce maximum power with a TSR around 0.3 so the outside edge of  the diameter would be moving at around 1/3 of wind speed.

If your typical wind speed is 12mph for example then: