Author Topic: 60Vdc wind generator  (Read 6105 times)

Logyman

60Vdc wind generator
« on: February 16, 2006, 05:30:22 PM »
I am new to wind generated power, as I just came into possession of a perfectly working 60Vdc Ametek generator. I have dabbled with solar on a very small scale, I have 3 15watt panels connected to a bank of 9 12 volt batteries, each at 24 amphours. I use this set-up basically to operate a few 9 watt screwbase fluorescent lights and a small stero at my cabin through an inverter. I am looking into making a wind turbine with the above mentioned generator, but I have a few queries:

• should I convert my battery configuration to 60 volt and start from there, or can I charge the 12 volt bank with a 60 volt generator through a voltage regulator of some kind?
  • I live way out on the east coast of Canada, and the winds are prolific. What is the best blade configuration, 3 or 6? I am looking at several 60" sets on ebay.
  • How do I regulate the generator speed in the simplest manner?

I know these are probably basic simple questions, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
« Last Edit: February 16, 2006, 05:30:22 PM by (unknown) »

henjulfox

Re: 60Vdc wind generator
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2006, 01:47:06 PM »
Logyman,

Your Ametek motor will work fine as a generator as-is. I, and most folks on this board have run a permanent magnet motor as a wind generator at some point. They are wonderful starter set-ups.