Author Topic: Lenz Turbine  (Read 4505 times)

PeterDove

Lenz Turbine
« on: August 08, 2006, 12:03:17 AM »
Hi All,

Just made my first turbine using the plans from the Lenz Turbine. Its made from cardboard at the moment just as a test. It spins very nicely in winds of 10mph. I do have a couple of questions about it and other related matters. I am a complete newbie at this so please forgive the dumb questions :P

1. What is the best ratio between the height of the lenz turbine and it diameter?
  2. What sort of winds should it self start in?
  3. Are there any new discoveries with the Lenz? Any improvements I can make.
  4. I am having trouble understanding/sourcing some kind of turntable system with minimal friction for the contraption to turn on.. Is there any kind of standard setup for vertical wind turbines?

I have had a good look on the forums and seen some good discussions on lenz design, but still am missing a few items which would get me on the right path.

Thanks all.

Peter

« Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 12:03:17 AM by (unknown) »

windstuffnow

Re: Lenz Turbine
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2006, 10:33:58 PM »
  Pete,

I couldn't say for sure what the optimum aspect ratio would be, I've built them 1:1 2:1 and 3:1 they all seemed to perform well.