Author Topic: Data logger  (Read 742 times)

teobyrne

Data logger
« on: August 11, 2006, 02:38:16 PM »
Hi folks,

I'm a hobbyist and I'm just starting construction of an axial flux windmill based on the Hugh Piggott plans.  I'd like to be able to get a good measurement of performance and also evaluate my (proposed) site.

Ideally, I'd like to capture with some sort of data logger the following: Wind speed, Direction, Rotor RPM and Amps.  I would hope I could do it with a wireless interface and I could capture up to a couple of months of data at a time (in about minute increments). It would be great if it was solar powered. I'm guessing this is a tall order!

I've been looking at the Davis Instruments Vantage Pro2 weather station with data logger, but it will not solve the problem of logging amps and rotor RPM.  Anybody have experience with this equipment? Any other venders sell equipment like this?

I'm new to all this (sure is fun though), any ideas out there?  How hard is it for a novice to build this device him (her) self?

Thanks

« Last Edit: August 11, 2006, 02:38:16 PM by (unknown) »

AbyssUnderground

Re: Data logger
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2006, 09:59:28 AM »
There was a diary about this a few weeks ago.

http://www.fieldlines.com/story/2006/8/5/224816/4475

Can I suggest you search the forum before asking questions as you could find your answer more quickly than waiting for a reply!

Hope the link is what you are looking for.

« Last Edit: August 11, 2006, 09:59:28 AM by AbyssUnderground »

veewee77

Re: Data logger
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2006, 12:56:21 PM »