Author Topic: using two magnets instead of 1  (Read 1413 times)

andres macias

using two magnets instead of 1
« on: August 31, 2006, 04:17:08 PM »
Hi,

just got my hugh piggot book and i´m looking at building a 4 footer as my 1st project and i stumbled with neodymium magnets of the following dimension : 1" x 1" x 1/2" in a shop really close to my home. could i use two of them and equal the 2" x 1" x 1/2" that the book suggests that i should use in the rotor?

thanks for all your help.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 04:17:08 PM by (unknown) »

andyman5002

Re: using two magnets instead of 1
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2006, 10:55:48 AM »
I don't see why not but I have not read this book and I am still a noob. But i don't think two magnets put together is as strong as one the correct size. So you will loose a bit of power. If there cheap then I would go for them. Keep us posted on your project and get some pics :)

Andy

« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 10:55:48 AM by andyman5002 »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2006, 11:05:38 AM »
That is about right, you will loose a little bit with 2 magnets but if they are a higher grade then you may even come out better.

Make sure they are good grade neo and you should be ok.

Remember they need to be the same polarity towards the stator and will repel strongly, you may have a little fun keeping them in place.

Flux

« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 11:05:38 AM by Flux »

tecker

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2006, 12:12:28 PM »
 No problem you can skew them to add some duration to the charge cycle (leaving the one closest to the center tdc)
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 12:12:28 PM by tecker »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2006, 12:33:36 PM »
"you may have a little fun keeping them in place"

I would say 'Virtually impossible to keep them in place'

G-
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 12:33:36 PM by ghurd »
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller

zapmk