Author Topic: I feel like an oxymoron  (Read 1779 times)

jmk

I feel like an oxymoron
« on: September 23, 2006, 01:16:42 AM »
 I purchased my first set of Interstate UL 16 6 volt batteries in July. They read 25.1 volts when first hooked up. I am new to this re battery stuff and thought that they needed to be 28 volts for a full charge. I just had raised my 12' turbine up and was excited to charge the batteries to 28 volts. I never really got consistent winds to get any higher than 26.5. The winds would calm down and the battery would settle back down to 25.3 volts I haven't figured out the dump load yet because it needs to be about 1,500 watts. I figured I would run the turbine only while I was at home and use power up as needed. The winds started out about 5 - 10 mph in the morning with the mill kicking in around 2 -5 amps. When I checked the voltage in the morning I noticed that the volts went to 27 without anything drawing currant. So I ran a cord over to the fridge and plugged it in. The wind is starting to pick up more and the draw only dropped the volts down to 26.5. While the fridge was running I started to get 5 - 10 amps coming in and it brought the voltage up to 27 again. Now I plug in the chest freezer and it draws it down to 26 volts. The wind is up to 14 - 20 mph and getting gusty. I am now getting short surges to 40 amps and the voltage is shooting up to 28.2 or so and going back down to 26.8. So I plug in another fridge. I ran that for about six hours with amps coming in from 10 to 40. Anyway when the wind started to die down I started unplugging stuff. The wind just about got calm around sunset and I figured I would unplug everything. The voltage was at 26.2 . I came out to shut down the mill and noticed that the voltage shot back up to 27. I plugged back in one fridge and went to bed. I got up a couple of times to check it and it was the same. In the morning the voltage was 27.5 so I ran both the freezer and fridge with no wind no amps coming in. I