Author Topic: Prairie Turbines  (Read 4294 times)

tljones

Prairie Turbines
« on: February 22, 2007, 04:35:24 AM »
Understand that I am not an engineer before I start.... I am a biologist.

What am I missing when I look at this thing????

http://www.prairieturbines.com/index.htm

I did a search here on the board and it seems no one can come to any definitive answer about this. let me summarize where I am at.

I am living on a hill in the plains of SD, in a class three wind zone. I have turbine farms within a hundredmiles in any direction, and while that is not definitive the supply of moving air is not my main worry.

I am never going all the way offgrid. My family will never put up with me going that far. I am currently genereating from a little test genny on the roof into some 12v batteries and have been avidly reading every night for several hours what is possible and what is not. every time I think I have a handle on things something reaches up and smacks me. Last night I was looking at outback systems and princing what I would need to take my 110 volt circuits of grid and onto battery. Never mind if that is a good idea.

Now I find this and I am seriously wondering why in the world you would put a couple thousand bucks into controllers and generator when you could build this and maybe get to a break even on the grid??? I pay 8.5 now and can sell for a crappy 2.6,( REC guys were here today).  I understand that this might not be the most elegant way of harvesting wind, but sometimes brute force and simplicity overwhelms engineering elegance. If I could build this for 5 grand I really see how I could have a no cost energy bill and pay it off in a few years!!!!