Author Topic: best cost effective batteries?  (Read 2399 times)

foolioGrimz

best cost effective batteries?
« on: May 24, 2010, 03:12:10 PM »
hi im new to wind power. im doing some research on power systems. Im planning on experimenting with the homebrew windmill. I had no idea copper wire was so expensive until I started researching this.  ;D  What im shooting for is running my 6,300 btu window ac and a flurescent lamp off the grid. I was using the central air but that was running 3-400 a month down here in south tex. not sure if the cost of batteries would outwiegh having it off the grid or not. But I like to take on weird projects like this for fun anyways. I work alot and only use power for 8-10 hrs max a day now. what kind of batteries would be the most suitable? how would some refurb. 12v deepcycle work out? they might be the cheapest to get ahold of

Tritium

Re: best cost effective batteries?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 04:21:55 PM »
It  cost more to make your own power than to buy it from the grid if you already have a grid connection.

Thurmond

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 04:24:28 PM »
6300BTU A/C?  Yikes.
I am guessing that's running about 5A at 115V, which is about 50A at 12V.
If you think CU is expensive, wait until you calculate the battery required in a reasonably designed RE system.

The florescent lamp is nothing compared to the A/C.

Need to rethink power.
"I work alot and only use power for 8-10 hrs max a day now."
10 hours x 31 days = 310 hours max.
"running 3-400 a month"
$350 average.
That's near $0.50 worth of grid per hour, or maybe 3000W continuous 24/7?

Need to rethink how that power is used.
Time for more insulation, turning the temp up, programmable thermostat, white curtains on the windows, CFLs, turn the water heater down, attic fan, etc.
G-
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller

foolioGrimz

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 07:20:08 PM »