Author Topic: Reducing Computer Power Requirements  (Read 4545 times)

scottsAI

Re: Reducing Computer Power Requirements
« Reply #33 on: June 04, 2005, 01:06:07 PM »
I will take a stab at answering your question. Sorry about the delay, out of town.

I have been running SETI for 2.857 years. My rank out of 5432010 total users is: 1332nd place. (as of writing this).

Why? Because I can. It defines who and what I am. I like to do things others do not.

Like most of you. This is how I do my job. I work in Sales, I'm the geek on the sales team. I help people, make sure they do it right so their project will succeed. So the sales team succeeds.

When the other distributed projects came on I looked at the medical. I thought about it long and hard. Realized pharmaceutical companies will be the larges benefactors of the results. If they thought doing it was so good, the budget for couple thousand computers would be a low ticket item. Same with the finance programs.

Why SETI? What is the chance of results?

I do NOT expect to find anything.

SETI claims to be able to detect signals from 100 light years (LR). Others claim that is not real, more like 70 LR. Considering the number of suns this represents, what chance is there another civilization at or near our technical level of development? SETI is based on the “other” civilization intentionally sending a Tera watt signal out for us to find. Our civilization did this for a few years in the 70's. Many armature radio dudes are beaming signals, most are using 1kw transmitters or pulsing 10kw, rumor of a group at 100kw. This is very far removed from the assumed Tera watt.

So why do it? Well it's kind of like winning the lottery, you have to buy a ticket...

Running SETI is my ticket. And, yes I can afford it. This is my largest hobby expense. I do not rebuild cars, etc. (I used to:)