Author Topic: hall effect revisited again  (Read 3381 times)

Rover

hall effect revisited again
« on: May 04, 2009, 09:50:15 PM »
Now that I've seen what the shunts do... I'm happier with the amploc hall effect sensors I was using.

I plan.. and this could be totaly wrong .. remember I'm a programmer first.

1. Use 100 amp amploc amp 100 sensors, they output with a Vs/2 zero, so as I plan to use a 5 volt supply, anything above 2.5 V is forward, no problem

But I'd rather have it hit the ADC at 0 to 4.096V (ADC limits) or even 0 to 5V. I just don't know how to do it. I think it will involve an op amp and a differential circuit (subtractor).. but I'm clueless.

Anyone feels like drawing up a schematic with named op Amp and resitor values.. I'd be appreciative.

Other details:

- The sensor is a closed Hall effect sensor that I plan to loop once over bringing the sensitivity up at the cost of top end. I'm not looking at more than 50 amps.

-The Sensor has a 2 mA max out (single out, no ref)

Any Help Appreciated.

« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 09:50:15 PM by (unknown) »
Rover
<Where did I bury that microcontroller?>

willib

• SuperHero Member
Re: hall effect revisited again
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 04:12:54 PM »
what 12 bit ADC are you going to use?

The Vs/2 => zero , is so that you can detect the current going in both directions as you probably know , ya dont want to use that feature?

Might come in handy !

Bill

« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 04:12:54 PM by (unknown) »
Carpe Ventum (Seize the Wind)

Rover

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 04:17:55 PM »
I'm using a Dallas/Maxim max186  8 channel 12 bit... already in place doing other stuff. I'm really not interested in reverse current (Yes i know might be usefull), but I have 4 circuits I want to monitor ( and actaully am at this point, just with changes in sensors) http://www.rovr1.com/wind/windsolardata.html.

Rathr have the best fidelity in one direction and use the entire voltage range of the ADC.