Author Topic: wiring up my first 3 phase genny  (Read 1141 times)

Aaron

wiring up my first 3 phase genny
« on: March 04, 2005, 04:44:36 AM »
Hello,

I'm making a dual rotor (12") 3 phase alternator based on the otherpower experiments, using 11g wire and 12 (24 total) trianglular neos from ed @ windstuffnow. Since I'm a metalworker by trade I'm making my own disks and bearing assembly. I'm wondering  just how many coils I should make and how to go about wiring them together. I'm new to this and have not really been able to find a good diagram to follow for the wiring. (saw one once, a red and green illustration, can't find it now!)I know I need to wire three coils in series but not really sure how to go about this. My goal is not necessarily to charge batteries but to produce as much light as I can while the machine is working @low rpms. Star or delta? Can anyone steer me in the right direction? Also, noticed the latest experiments have had the wiring connections inside the resin of the stator. I basically  just need to know how to make the wire connections. Any help appreciated. Thanks, Aaron
« Last Edit: March 04, 2005, 04:44:36 AM by (unknown) »

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
Re: wiring up my first 3 phase genny
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2005, 09:55:51 PM »
google search the board under coil design or stator winding . check out windstuff ed and electric ed.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2005, 09:55:51 PM by (unknown) »

DanB

• Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
    • otherpower.com
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2005, 06:17:22 AM »
Hi Aaron - I wonder how many windings you have per coil?  For this type of machine, I would prefer thicker magnets.   The thinner/smaller your magnets are, the less output you'll have at any given rpm.

You should wire the alternator in Star.  Star is like a series connection, Delta is like a parallel connection.  Star will give you the highest voltage at any given rpm.