Author Topic: DC Charging Question  (Read 2540 times)

savedbygrace

DC Charging Question
« on: May 28, 2005, 01:52:40 PM »
I'm new to all of this, and have been researching like crazy.  This is fascinating stuff!!

I'm planning on starting out a simply as I can, to get my feet wet!  I design and build baseball/softball pitching machines, and they use PMDC motors...so I have a bunch of them lying around...mostly high RPM models...of varying HP, sizes, shapes and colors.  Most of them are 90V or more.  I want to use one as a DC generator to charge batteries.  I'm going to use gears/chains/sprockets to turn one of my motors (I have a lot of gears/chains/sprockets lying around too!).  I know there will be friction loss, but that's OK with me for now.  Obviously, I'll be generating more than slightly over 12V with these motors.  

Here's the questions:

1.  What's the most Voltage I can input into a 12V battery without damage?
  2.  Will the battery use only the voltage it can and just ignore the rest?  Somehow, I doubt that, but thought I'd ask.
  3.  If I have to step the voltage down, what's an inexpensive and easy way (assuming there is) to do it?

Thanks in advance,

Randy

« Last Edit: May 28, 2005, 01:52:40 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
Re: DC Charging Question
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2005, 01:07:05 PM »
i don't have time to answer your questions at this time but they are covered here  http://www.fieldlines.com/faq/re_faq
« Last Edit: May 28, 2005, 01:07:05 PM by (unknown) »

nothing to lose

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2005, 05:09:43 PM »
Basically I geuss watts is watts and they say it all converts to battery voltage at what ever the amps.

So if you have high volts lower amps at the gennie the batteries will hold down the volts to it's own level and the amps will increase. Need to make sure you don't over charge, use a dump load, as the batteries charge the voltage will rise I think. You don't want it to be pumping in 20V to a fully charged 12V bank!