Author Topic: Setting charge voltage  (Read 1247 times)

cabinfevor

Setting charge voltage
« on: April 16, 2007, 03:36:28 PM »
Hello all, this is my first post to the site so I guess I'm a newbie. I've read a lot of good posts here but haven't found one that addresses this question. At least not yet. I'm getting ready to jump into the solar charging world because I'm tired of dumping gas into my generator.

I've got a off grid camp in Maine that's more like a small house. I powering it with a 4k watt Xantrex inverter charger. My battery banks are 1000 amp  and 850 amp 24vdc. I use a 425amp continuous duty marine battery selector switch for picking either bank or both plus I have a 250amp breaker that I can disconnect the inverter.

I' find myself running the gen everyday to keep the batteries above 60% charge. I've got all florescent lighting but the monitor heaters and well pump take their toll in power consumption.

My goal is to install a solar panel or two that will charge the banks when I'm not using the camp but I was told by some one with a similar set up that I would need to be careful of charge voltage when not using the camp for extended periods, He stated the normal charge voltage(28.8) would bake the batteries when they are not being cycled.

1. Is this true? Do I need to change the charge voltage setting when I'm not at camp?

I've already purchased a Xantrex C40 charge controller but I have not yet purchased any panels due to the high cost. I was planning to buy a used one off ebay.

2. Any suggestions as to whether I should buy two 12 volt panels and wire in series or one 24 volt panel. I don't think I'll need a huge array as the system will have a few weeks to recharge between being used. Some times longer. Thanks for any advice.

« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 03:36:28 PM by (unknown) »

AbyssUnderground

Re: Setting charge voltage
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2007, 10:45:54 AM »