Author Topic: Power from wind mill and different size solar  (Read 1383 times)

Birdmmjb

Power from wind mill and different size solar
« on: May 12, 2007, 02:21:37 AM »
I am new to solar and wind power but have been collecting parts whenever I've found a good deal.

As a result I have one wind mill made from a tread mill motor, 4-15 watt solar panels and 3-5 watt panels.

I also have one 7 amp charge control and a 50 amp battery regulator (sp) with dump circut (darn I cant spell tonight).  These will be charging a 135 ah battery untill I can get to Little Rock and pick up a lift battery I've found 12 v 700 ah new but taken off the lift as it would nolonger operate for a full day may still hold 300 ah.

Is there some way to wire all the solar panels and the mill to my battery?  I know I cant just wire different wattage panels together and what about the mill can I run one circut from the solar panels and tower ( next to each other in my side yard

or do I need to bring each item to the battery bank (In the house) on a different line.

What about a dump load does any one have an inexpensive way of dumping the extra power?

By the way please keep it in simple terms as I am very new to the whole eletcrical and eletronics game.  Most of what I read on this forum goes right over my head.

But it's sure fun to try to figure it out and learn somthing new.

Jan

« Last Edit: May 12, 2007, 02:21:37 AM by (unknown) »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Power from wind mill and different size solar
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 08:59:19 PM »
The panels can be wired in parallel. That's not much of an issue.

I hope the 7A controller doesn't have a 3 capitol letter brand name, or you really need a new one. I C P roblems with those.  And the old style yellow HF controllers too.

Look way back through the 'controls' section (link above) for many ideas about dump loads.

G-

« Last Edit: May 11, 2007, 08:59:19 PM by (unknown) »
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller